Child Abuse and Child Neglect, both are real and you can be arrested
Did you know that April is National Child Abuse Prevention month?
April has been designated as the month to raising awareness and preventing child abuse. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), child abuse is defined as, “all forms of physical and/or emotional ill-treatment, sexual abuse, neglect or negligent treatment or commercial or other exploitation, resulting in actual or potential harm to the child’s health, survival, development or dignity in the context of a relationship of responsibility, trust, or power.”
Examples of child abuse include but are not limited to:
•Emotional abuse and psychological abuse such as calling the child names, bullying, shaming/humiliating a child, telling a child he is worthless, frequent yelling or threatening
•Neglect where a child is not provided with basic needs such as food, clothing, hygiene, medical care, education, or supervision
•Physical abuse such as beating, slapping, kicking, choking, biting, burning with cigarettes or scalding water
•Sexual abuse. This can also involve exposing a child to sexual situations or material that is sexually abusive, whether or not touching is involved
In Florida, the statutes have three offenses against children:
Child abuse, aggravated child abuse, and child neglect.
In Florida, a child neglect charge could result in up to five years of prison, five years of probation, and a $5,000 fine. Aggravated child abuse is classified as a first-degree felony and can result in up to thirty years in prison, thirty years of probation, and a $10,000 fine. Other possible penalties include: being required to register as a child sexual offender, termination of parental rights, a criminal record, only supervised access to the child, and continual involvement of the child protective services agency.
If you or a loved one are at risk…
We encourage you to seek help immediately before the unthinkable may happen. There are several Florida agencies available to help you. The Florida Department of Children and Families can help. Call their toll free number at: 1-800-96-ABUSE. Get the help you need before it’s too late.
About 49th Street Bail Bonds
49th Street Bail Bonds offers bail bonds for clients facing charges such as DUI, domestic violence, battery, and more. A bail bondsman is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 365 days a year. To start the bail bond process, please call 727-592-0000.
All of the bail bondsmen at 49th Street Bail Bonds are experienced and knowledgeable. They are ready to assist you with paperwork, explain the bail bond process, and answer questions that you may have about the criminal justice system. Please call 727-592-0000 to start the bail bond process.
49th Street Bail Bonds serves all of Pinellas County including clients residing in or around Clearwater, Largo, Seminole, Madeira Beach, Indian Rocks Beach, Bay Pines, St. Petersburg, South St. Pete Beach, South Tampa, and the greater Tampa Bay area. We are here to help so please call us today at 727-592-0000!